Happy Fucking New Year

Hello everyone,

I hope your new year started out just as great as mine! Just towards the end of last year, I took a shitload of holidays so that I can seriously relax  around the Christmas period. I was looking forward to it a lot, relax a little, maybe visit some places and people, finally play some FFXV! Everything was looking seriously dandy. But then my colleague came to me and asked me if I wanted to maybe do an internship at some big company in the US. I know my insecure and change-hating self, but it also sounded like a great opportunity! I accepted his offer to get me hooked up into the recruiting process and realized I would have to study a lot for the interview.

Fast-forward a few weeks and today is the last day of my holiday. Obviously I am now a way better coder and I feel very well prepared for the interview. I found a really nice balance between studying and enjoying my free time and I am coming out of the vacation relaxed and a better person. At least that is what I was hoping for. Just that well… it’s not true at all. I barely studied anything, I’m still a shit coder, I’m more nervous than ever and obviously I didn’t relax either because “I should have been studying all that time”. The only thing I did do was extensive reddit reading. It’s really depressing when you open reddit in the morning (aka around two in the afternoon) and all links are still purple because you scrolled through reddit until three last night. I also watched Orphan Black. Forty episodes are over way too fast! It was a decent show, but nothing too overwhelming.

I did learn some other things though. First of all, I seem to have a passion for Berliner Luft, a mint liquor most people seem to despise vigorously. Secondly, you can drink enough alcohol on one evening, so that you puke in the evening and it’ll again be the first thing you do the next morning. (This involved about 0.5l-0.6l Luft and 3 Gin tonics.) And finally, resulting from the previous life lesson, I learned that I want to stop drinking alcohol, at least for a while. This I have profoundly learned so many times now and I always forget about it approximately 3 days later. I even wrote myself a drunk mail after the office Christmas party where I got seriously hammered. But, just two days ago I drank a beer during dinner again. Since I really regretted that decision though, I did try to whole socializing without alcohol thing directly afterwards. Instead of drinking more beers in the bar, I switched to peppermint tea, a good Luft substitute! I did a period of like 6 weeks without alcohol somewhere last year and it was pretty darn sweet. So I’m really going to give this a shot again. (How ironic, … “give it a shot again” x).) Maybe this will be my resolution, instead of the other resolution of masturbating less. Apparently that is what drunk me said during the new year’s eve celebration. I partied with friends of a friend, who seem a bit more conservative and whom I barely know. Obviously, she was less than thrilled about this. Even though I now still have 5 bottles of Luft left, it feels like a great plan though. Especially since going back to this reddit classic, always hits me right in the feels man!

Well that is my current life status. I have to practice the piano, since I finally started lessons and I really suck at it, I have to study for the interview later this week, and I have to review a paper for Friday. Also I have to work again next week and somehow I am anticipating a lot of stuff to piled up on my todo list by now. Meanwhile, it feels that doing nothing on an average day is the right thing to do. On a positive note, …

There is no positive note :D Happy 2017, maybe it’ll be better than 2016.

Happy Fucking New Year

Write something to depress me even more

